Missouri's Cattlemen Foundation Awards 31 Scholarships

| January 25, 2024

OSAGE BEACH, MISSOURI (Jan. 25, 2024) – Missouri's Cattlemen Foundation awarded scholarships to 31 high school seniors and college students at the 56th Annual Missouri Cattle Industry Convention & Trade Show. The awards were presented during a banquet celebrating the achievements of youth in the cattle industry on Saturday, January 20, 2024.       

Scholarship recipients were chosen based on excellent communication, leadership and scholastic achievement as well as involvement in their communities and the agricultural industry. Each selected student received a $1,000 scholarship funded by Missouri's Cattlemen Foundation and its many supporters. Several were endowed scholarships that were established to honor individuals who made significant contributions to Missouri's beef cattle industry.     

Scholarships were awarded to Macy Bader, Gasconade; Madelyn Chiarottino, Macon; Landon Chaney, Polk; Allison Coats, Ray; Madison Dent, Warren; Ella Fischer, Andrew/Buchanan; Alexa Groeber, Callaway/Montgomery; Nick Haines, Audrain; Lauren Hammett, Boone; Charlie Hazelrigg, Boone; Dayton Hoffman, Cass/Jackson; Cody Jedlicka, Howell; Jack Keene, Boone; Larissa Larrick, Shelby; Alaina Link, Randolph; Josey Meier, Cape Giradeau; Ethan Miller, Cole; Jackson Norfleet, Audrain; Gavin Rhode, Clinton; Mikaela Rojas, Linn; Blair Schnarre, Boone; Bailey Schneider, Warren; Coy Stephan, Saint Clair; Katrina Thomas, Monroe; Claire Walker, Livingston; Clara Wallace, Ralls; Mary Grace Warden, Polk; Emma Whitlock, Sullivan; Colton Whitney, Hickory; Quincy Wiegand, Chariton/Randolph; and Tysen Wilson, Macon.       

For the third year, judges selected the top written applications and those individuals had in-person interviews with a panel of judges to compete for an additional $2,000 making the scholarship a total of $3,000. The top six candidates were: Allison Coats, Ella Fischer, Jack Keene, Gavin Rhode, Josie Toombs and Tysen Wilson. The top two who received an additional $2,000 and $1000 respectively provided by Missouri Cattlemen's Foundation and the Boone County Cattlemen's Association were Ella Fischer and Jack  Keene.     

Since 1997, Missouri's Cattlemen Foundation has awarded $801,500 in scholarships to 815 students.